(VVCONSTRUCTION PROJECT
CHECK LIST

() Check the contractor license number at
www.cslb.ca.gov to make sure it is current
and in good standing.

() Ask to see the contractor’s pocket license and
a current photo ID.

() Ask for a list of current contact information
(telephone number and business address) for
the contractor, subcontractors, and suppliers.

O Find out from your local building department whether
your project needs a building permit and confirm that
your contractor will obtain all necessary permits.

() Get at least three contractor bids and references,
and check out, in person, each prospective contractor’s
recent similar projects.

O Ask whether your contractor carries general liability
insurance for employees in case accidental damage
occurs during the project, and workers’ compensation
insurance for employees.

O Make sure all project materials and expectations
are spelled out and signed in a written contract,
including clean-up, debris removal, and site security.

O Ask your contractor if he or she understands your
project expectations.

O Schedule and document each phase of your project
and the corresponding payment schedule. Do not let
payments get ahead of the work.

O Pay no more than 10% down or $1,000, whichever
is less.”

O Avoid paying in cash.

O Keep all of your project documents, including
payments and photographs, in a job file.

O Try researching your contractor’s name online for
additional reviews.

* There is an exception to this rule for contractors who have filed
a blanket performance and payment bond with CSLB's Registrar.
This information is noted on the contractors license detail page
on CSLB’s website.

Protect yourself from
unscrupulous or
unlicensed contractors.

General Advice

Only hire state-licensed contractors.

Any contractor performing work of $500 or
more (combined labor and material costs)
must be licensed by CSLB to work in California.

Avoid being caught up in high-pressure
sales tactics.

Avoid rushing into repairs. Take the time to get at
least three identical bids and verify testimonials.

Ask to see the contractor's “pocket license”
or their representative’s “Home Improvement
Salesperson” registration. All contractors are
issued pocket licenses that show the type

of trade for which they are licensed, and the
license expiration date. Ask to see a photo
identification to confirm their identity.
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A free telephone
call to CSLB or a
few clicks on its
website can verify
that the license of
the contractor you
plan to hire is in
good standing (with
a current, active,

and unrestricted

he or she is
licensed to perform
the specific type of

contracted work.

Check the License First

By law, anyone in California who contracts for or
bids on a construction project valued at $500 or
more (combined labor and material costs) must be
licensed by the Contractors State License Board
(CSLB). To qualify for a license, a contractor must
verify four years of journey-level experience in

the trade, pass both a trade and license law and
business examination, and post a license bond.
Since 2005, all new contractors have been required
to pass a criminal background check. Contractors
are required to put their CSLB license number in all
advertisements. Ask to see the contractor’s plastic
pocket license and photo identification.

e \erify the license and make sure it is in
good standing by visiting www.cslb.ca.gov
or by calling CSLB's toll-free automated line:
800-321-CSLB (2752).

e Remember: Contractors with employees must carry
workers' compensation insurance. (C-39 Roofing
contractors must have a workers" compensation
policy even if they do not have employees.)

e (et at least three bids, ask for references from the
contractors’ previous customers in the local area,
and view the contractors’ past projects in person.

¢ Unlicensed operators are required to include
in their advertisements that they are not state-
licensed and can only perform work valued at
less than $500.

Filing a Construction Complaint
e File online at www.cslh.ca.gov
e Print complaint form from www.cslb.ca.gov

e (all 800-321-CSLB (2752) for complaint form and
A Consumer Guide to Filing Construction Complaints

Financial Information
e Avoid paying in cash.

e (Contractors cannot ask for a deposit of more than
10 percent of the total cost of the job or $1,000,
whichever is less.” (This applies to any home
improvement project, including swimming pools.)

e Stick to your schedule of payments and don't let
payments get ahead of the completed work.

Get It in Writing

e Make sure you have a written contract and don't
sign it until you fully understand the terms.

e All changes to the contract, or “change orders,”
need to be in writing and signed by both parties.

e Keep a job file of all project papers, photographs,
and payments—and don't make the final payment
until you're satisfied with the job.

e Homeowners waive their three-day right to cancel
(or five-day right to cancel if they're 65 or older) if
they sign a “service and repair contract,” which
is different from a standard “home improvement
contract.” (Service and repair contracts are usually
for emergency repair work where the consumer
initiated the contact.)

License History

e [f you want information about a contractor’s
license history and pending or prior disciplinary
actions, please call the appropriate CSLB Legal
Action Disclosure telephone number:

Northern Region:
(916) 255-4041

Southern Region:
(562) 345-7656



